Lake Hunting

This Midwestern state holds many waterfowl species. Post here and read others views on Wisconsin duck hunting. From the mighty Mississippi river to the west to the great lake of Michigan on the east, WI has many different types of hunting available to hunters.

Moderators: Pete-pec, NickCies80

Lake Hunting

Postby bp64 » Sun Oct 07, 2012 11:03 am

Hi everyone. I'm fairly new to duck hunting and I am wondering on what the rules are for hunting out on lakes in Wisconsin? I have tryed the DNR website and I just can't seem to find the rules on Lakes. So if anyone could let me know the guidelines that would be highly appreciated. thanks
bp64
hunter

Re: Lake Hunting

Postby gatorsnagger » Sun Oct 07, 2012 2:53 pm

All lakes are fair game as long as they are not in a city with a hunting ordinance. If you can get in via public access you can hunt it. People might give you a little bit of stinkeye for shooting birds on the recreational lakes but it is fair game.
gatorsnagger
hunter

Postby Teal_Blaster » Sun Oct 07, 2012 4:01 pm

Any part of the boat or blind is within 3 feet of naturally occurring vegetation rooted to the bottom.

This vegetation provides at least 50 percent concealment of the hunter, boat and blind when viewed from at least 1 direction horizontally.

Some of this vegetation extends above the water’s surface to a height at or above the sides of any boat, if a boat is used.

Dead stumps and dead trees in the water do not constitute a natural growth of vegetation for the purpose of this rule.

Via http://dnr.wi.gov/files/PDF/pubs/wm/WM0010.pdf
Teal_Blaster
hunter

Postby bp64 » Sun Oct 07, 2012 4:24 pm

Alright Thanks guys
bp64
hunter

Postby rjax25 » Thu Oct 18, 2012 10:41 am

Is there on ordinance for how far away from residential property or houses you must be set up?
thanks in advance
rjax25
Newb

Postby WisconsinWaterfowler » Thu Oct 18, 2012 4:11 pm