Advice for a Rookie Duck Hunter

This Midwestern state holds many waterfowl species. Post here and read others views on Wisconsin duck hunting. From the mighty Mississippi river to the west to the great lake of Michigan on the east, WI has many different types of hunting available to hunters.

Moderators: NickCies80, Pete-pec

Advice for a Rookie Duck Hunter

Postby Winchester82 » Thu Nov 01, 2012 2:16 pm

I’m looking for some advice for anyone who wants to chime in. This is my second year of duck hunting. I don’t have any family or friends that duck hunt, so I have been going at this alone. I spend a lot of time reading message boards and Internet articles to try and become a self-taught duck hunter. I have always been concerned with duck hunting the “right” way and proper etiquette while hunting (no sky busting, no setting up on top of others, no calling ducks working someone else spread, etc.) I went into this telling myself it was all about spending time outdoors with my dog and any ducks we shot were just a bonus. While that is still the case, I find myself wanting to increase my success rate.

I live in the Milwaukee area and unfortunately do not have nearly as much time as I would like to dedicate to duck hunting. That being said, I am usually limited to hunts/scouting within about an hour of Milwaukee (I know this limits my options….especially on public land). I do not have a boat, so I am limited to walk-in spots (I guess that is strike two). I am definitely not asking for advice on spots (although I would listen if anyone wanted to tell me!) since I am starting to realize how much hard work/effort it takes to find good spots.