Hunting etiquette

This Midwestern state holds many waterfowl species. Post here and read others views on Wisconsin duck hunting. From the mighty Mississippi river to the west to the great lake of Michigan on the east, WI has many different types of hunting available to hunters.

Moderators: Pete-pec, NickCies80

Hunting etiquette

Postby RookieJ » Fri Nov 02, 2012 3:05 pm

So as some of you know I'm fairly new at the duck hunting thing (3rd season) and was wondering what the duck hunter's rule is on people's blinds on public land. I know the state regs say that the blind is fair game to anyone hunting in the area so I assume its a kind of first come first served type thing. But I'm wondering if its an unwritten rule that if someone set up a blind and has it labeled you stay away.
There will be blood!
RookieJ
hunter

Re: Hunting etiquette

Postby War Wagon » Fri Nov 02, 2012 4:23 pm

Im from the old school...you snooze you loose. If it on public area's I always said first come first served. I have had some problems with this but, as soon as I say "Take it with you, I dont need it" Here I'll help you take it apart right now. :hammer: :hammer: They leave...
War Wagon
hunter

Postby kitasdad » Fri Nov 02, 2012 4:58 pm

Absolutely first come first served. If that wasn't the case a guy could just build blinds all over the place and have the whole swamp to himself. Some guys are jerks and think they own the place, but it is just not the case. Remember not to let getting in an argument over a spot ruin your dad, though. I'd rather invite the builder to hunt with me or give up the spot than ruin one of the few days I can hunt. But it is absolutely first come first served.
kitasdad
hunter

Postby RookieJ » Fri Nov 02, 2012 7:45 pm

Thanks guys, I kinda figured if anything came up I would say what kitas said and welcome them to hunt. If they are ***** tho I will keep War Wagon's tactic on reserve :biggrin:
There will be blood!
RookieJ
hunter