Madison Duck Hunting

This Midwestern state holds many waterfowl species. Post here and read others views on Wisconsin duck hunting. From the mighty Mississippi river to the west to the great lake of Michigan on the east, WI has many different types of hunting available to hunters.

Moderators: Pete-pec, NickCies80

Madison Duck Hunting

Postby mojowonder » Thu Feb 20, 2014 7:08 pm

I am a UW student and looking to duck hunt near Madison next year. I was looking on the WI DNR website and thinking of trying Cherokee Marsh Fishery Area. Trying to find a spot where no dog or boat is needed. I will bring waders though. Any ideas?
mojowonder
Newb

Re: Madison Duck Hunting

Postby uglymug » Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:47 pm

I live about 30 minutes northeast of you in Columbus. I'd be sure to get there early. I hear the hunting pressure around Madison is simply crazy. You may be better of driving up to the WI River/Portage to Steven's Point area and in between. I've had good early season luck there and there's not as much pressure.

EDIT: The river, not the mead. If you hunt the mead you better have a helmet so you don't get a headache from all the pellets falling on you.
uglymug
hunter

Postby dudejcb » Thu Feb 20, 2014 10:22 pm

Middleton Marsh used to be a great duck and pheasant spot.
What's so funny 'bout peace love and understanding?
dudejcb
hunter

Postby GunDawg420 » Fri Feb 21, 2014 2:05 pm