Layout boat for Winnebago?

This Midwestern state holds many waterfowl species. Post here and read others views on Wisconsin duck hunting. From the mighty Mississippi river to the west to the great lake of Michigan on the east, WI has many different types of hunting available to hunters.

Moderators: NickCies80, Pete-pec

Layout boat for Winnebago?

Postby uglymug » Sat Feb 22, 2014 12:49 am

Hi fellow Wisconsinites,

I'm looking at getting into layout boat hunting next year and I'm thinking of trying Lake Winnebago. I'm just wondering what kind of layout boats you guys would recommend. I'd prefer something that could have a small engine mounted on it. I don't have a tender boat and I don't have the cash to get one. Is this feasible to get to a good spot just using something like a Beavertail 2000 or something similar? I'm kinda new to the whole layout concept so any tips would be appreciated.
uglymug
hunter

Re: Layout boat for Winnebago?

Postby Rhock19 » Sat Feb 22, 2014 9:02 am

I would keep safety in mind first. If you get caught out in a storm with a layout boat and no tender, there is no motoring back in and probably no more you.
Rhock19
hunter

Postby uglymug » Sat Feb 22, 2014 10:58 am

What size would you recommend as a tender boat?
uglymug
hunter

Postby loon » Sat Feb 22, 2014 11:09 am

16 foot deep V minimum
loon
hunter

Location: greenbay wisconsin on my back laying out on the bay

Postby Rhock19 » Sat Feb 22, 2014 3:18 pm

18ft absolute minimum. Those waters can kick up so fast your head will spin. Calm clear and sunny one minute then five foot rollers. Others can vouch, any large lake is going to have considerably large storms, especially during the fall. And it doesnt matter if you know the lake and know how to drive, small boats loaded with heavy gear and white caps do not mix.
Rhock19
hunter

Postby uglymug » Sun Feb 23, 2014 12:13 am

Thanks for the info guys! Looks like I'll have to reconsider my options.
uglymug
hunter