lead the way to the birds!!

This Midwestern state holds many waterfowl species. Post here and read others views on Wisconsin duck hunting. From the mighty Mississippi river to the west to the great lake of Michigan on the east, WI has many different types of hunting available to hunters.

Moderators: NickCies80, Pete-pec

lead the way to the birds!!

Postby quackwhacker » Wed Aug 11, 2004 9:03 pm

I'm new to the milwaukee area and need to do a little pre season scouting. Was wondering where one might look for the geese and ducks for the coming season? Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!!
If it flies, it DIES!!! Come on now, someone take me huntin'!!!
quackwhacker
Newb

Postby OzaukeeDoug » Sun Aug 29, 2004 2:38 pm

I don't know what part of the Milwaukee area you are in, but as far as public land nearby goes, you should be prepared to deal with a lot of other hunters. 99% of the guys out there are courteous and won't crowd you, but then there is always that other 1%.

To the north of Milwaukee there aren't many decent areas open to the public, there are more to the west and northwest.

The Horicon marsh is arguably one of the best waterfowling spots in the country and is a fairly short drive. The state wildlife area up there is open to waterfowl hunting, but you need a special permit to hunt geese in that zone.
OzaukeeDoug
hunter

GOOSE HUNTING

Postby Duane Emery » Fri Sep 03, 2004 9:53 am

horicon is a good place to hunt if you want to see how far you are able to shoot nothing but sky busting there now my self i find it more fun decoying the birds then shoot them
Duane Emery
Newb

Postby jreigh » Fri Sep 10, 2004 1:46 pm

what about lake michigan? how can this be hunted? is it more effective later in the season?
jreigh
Newb

Postby quackwhacker » Sun Sep 12, 2004 9:39 pm