IN Drawings: A better way

Discuss hunting regulations to the Indiana duck hunting.

Moderators: northzoneguy, nitrousneil, badbowtie

IN Drawings: A better way

Postby M2000shooter » Thu Nov 12, 2009 10:26 am

Since Indiana has so little in the way of public hunting places, we all know we must draw in order to get to hunt. Over the last few years, they have increased the number of days that are reserved for pre-season drawings. I've been putting in for the last 5 years and have blanked out all 5. My dad blanked out 4 out of 5. I have been putting in for the pheasant draws for 17 years now. I've never been chosen.

Other states (NE, SD) also do some lottery draws. However, when you blank out, you get preference points for the following year. Blank out again, you get more. Eventually you are almost guaranteed to picked. Why doesn't IN do this? Seriously guys, 17 years without being chosen?

Oh, and if pheasant hunting is so popular that we don't have enough places for the hunts, wouldn't you think the DNR would make it a higher priority to acquire leases or ownership of more pheasant properties? Okay, off my soap box.
M2000shooter
hunter

Re: IN Drawings: A better way

Postby CubsFan1 » Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:14 pm

I think the current system works as good as it possibly can. Each year everyone has an equal chance.
CubsFan1
hunter

Postby MerkEm » Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:13 pm

It doesnt bother me any! I just wish they wouldnt have so many reservations for duck hunting.. Get your butt up and draw, If you blank out have a back up plan! Just went on my reserved pheasant hunt yesterday, 2 years in a row being picked for it. :biggrin: 17 years that sucks, good luck next year!
MerkEm
hunter

Postby ddragon47 » Thu Nov 12, 2009 10:16 pm

My luck on the pre draws has not been to good the last 3 years.
But I agree get your butt up and draw.
"I Didn't Come This Far To Miss!"
ddragon47
hunter

Postby M2000shooter » Fri Nov 13, 2009 1:05 pm