2013 Early Season Teal

Discuss hunting regulations to the Indiana duck hunting.

Moderators: northzoneguy, nitrousneil, badbowtie

2013 Early Season Teal

Postby BRuss0426 » Fri Aug 16, 2013 3:51 pm

Hey everyone! My name is Brian and I'm new to duck hunting in Indiana. I moved down here two years ago, but have mainly stuck to duck hunting up in Michigan with family. I'd like to early season teal hunt down here before opening day up north but have no idea where to even begin to look for teal to hunt. I live in Hamilton county. If anyone could give some recommendations or is maybe looking for a hunting partner, please let me know!
BRuss0426
hunter

Re: 2013 Early Season Teal

Postby 18javelin » Mon Aug 19, 2013 5:38 pm

Usually find them scouting. Just saying brutha quit asking for spot
Underradar wrote:Well, its sad really. One day he's happily posting pics of road killed coyotes he posed as if he shot them, the next, he's stomped down the shower drain like a soft turd.
18javelin
hunter

Postby dsdstoffel » Thu Aug 22, 2013 3:59 pm

Hamilton county does not have a lot of options for a teal hunter if i were you i would get on dnr website and look at the public waterfowl areas, and plan a trip. Welcome to indiana, and if your ever in the northern part of the state i would be glad to show you how to kill a few teal.
dsdstoffel
hunter

Postby badbowtie » Tue Aug 27, 2013 9:46 am

We usually find teal every year. But you HAVE to scout. They move around a lot and a cold front can be your best and worst enemy.
badbowtie
State Moderator

Postby jriedel » Tue Aug 27, 2013 4:19 pm

dsdstoffel wrote:Hamilton county does not have a lot of options for a teal hunter if i were you i would get on dnr website and look at the public waterfowl areas, and plan a trip. Welcome to indiana, and if your ever in the northern part of the state i would be glad to show you how to kill a few teal.