Southern Indiana Waterfowl?

Discuss hunting regulations to the Indiana duck hunting.

Moderators: badbowtie, northzoneguy, nitrousneil

Postby BlakePhelps » Mon Nov 11, 2013 9:10 pm

So I posted a topic in the Honey Hole before I found this part of the Forum. I'm new if you can't tell. But I want to know if anybody knows of some good spots near Bloomington (I'm a student at IU) that are worth the time and effort to hunt. I've researched a few different lakes including Monroe, Lemon, etc... but don't have a way to physically go to these lakes. Could someone help me out? Please?
BlakePhelps
hunter

Re: Southern Indiana Waterfowl?

Postby oscar67 » Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:46 am

dont take this wrong , but the worst way a new waterfowler can start out is by asking for someone to tell them thier hard earned [good spots]
you need to do some scouting in the areas you mentioned . get a pair of good bino's and put in some windshield time.
i work 40-64hrs a week and have a family to tend to but still work in time to scout .
if you are willing to put in the effort ,wont be long and you will meet fellow waterfowlers that might share a little .
jion waterfowlers organization ,delta,Du,waterfowl USA.
good luck and be safe
oscar67
hunter

Postby hankyorke » Tue Nov 12, 2013 7:42 am

If you can't get anywhere to scout how do you plan to get there to hunt?
hankyorke
hunter

Postby mikebenghp » Tue Nov 12, 2013 1:25 pm

Hank brings up a valid point. If you don't get out and scout you have a couple big issues. 1.) Safety. It is not wise to go out in the dark to a place you know absolutely nothing about if you can avoid it. 2.) You will be "shooting in the dark" as far as getting under birds. That being said, if you can't scout use your hunts as scouting trips. It's not ideal but its better than nothing.