Future Flooded Corn Field

A forum dedicated to conservation issues and listings of conservation Orgs

Moderators: NV Guide, Dogman

Future Flooded Corn Field

Postby FeatherBlaster » Thu Feb 07, 2008 12:09 am

I need advice on planting a corn field (or some other kind of food that ducks like) that will flood in late november.
Listen more than you speak.
FeatherBlaster
hunter

Postby Wismer » Thu Feb 07, 2008 7:55 am

Hey man I am a farmer in Ontario, Canada

what are you looking for in terms of advice?

Will you harvest the corn or just leave it for the ducks? Believe it or not this all has an effect on how you manage it.

Basically you prepare the ground, fertilize (if you want a higher yield), harvest, rotate the crops the next year... If your field is not going to get harvested then you would probably be safe with corn every year but if you are looking for a yield and some profit then you rotate your crops every year usually in a corn, beans, wheat, repeat... if you grow the same crop every year diseases and pests hide in the soil and will attack the next years crop. Like I said if you are just giving up the crop for ducks then it wont matter if some of the plants die.
Take 'er easy

Craig
Wismer
hunter

Postby FeatherBlaster » Sat Feb 09, 2008 1:37 am

the whole reason is for hunting ducks... I suppose that the geese will come into it too. This isn't meant to be harvested, although I am not against that idea. it would be less than 1 acre of corn when all said and done. What do you think?
FeatherBlaster
hunter

Postby rmh » Sat Feb 09, 2008 5:34 am

With no traditional harvesting planned you need to check baiting restrictions, that might be a gray area.
2013 Totals
1 2003 Ford Focus (harvested by a 6 point whitetail)
1 1991 Chevy Lumina (harvested by a PT Cruiser)
rmh
hunter

Postby Wismer » Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:32 am