Dove Field

A forum dedicated to conservation issues and listings of conservation Orgs

Moderators: NV Guide, Dogman

Dove Field

Postby DuckKnight » Wed Mar 26, 2008 7:32 am

What is the best thing to plant in a dove field?
Sittin in my suit of hidden camo.
DuckKnight
Newb

Postby olddkguide » Thu Mar 27, 2008 8:13 am

I already know somebody is going to say millet or corn, but I've had my best results from sunflowers. Dove love it, it's like throwing candy to kids in a schoolyard. I've been using sunflowers for over twenty years now and everybody usually has their limit in under thirty minutes opening day. Keep some fresh ground broken in the field too, they seem to like that also.
olddkguide
hunter

Postby EHO IV » Thu Mar 27, 2008 12:08 pm

I second sunflowers. We hunt over a sunflower field in NC and there are a thousand birds in there on opening day. Truly unbelievable.
EHO IV
hunter

Postby cinnamonteal7 » Mon Apr 14, 2008 12:14 pm

pot
miss him once shame on me, miss him twice on me agian, miss him three times damit! reload and watch where that SOB lands this isnt over.
cinnamonteal7
hunter

Postby HunterX » Fri Apr 18, 2008 5:59 pm

I'd have to agree w/ the others on sunflower for quick limits otherwise setting up near a watering hole can be fun and entertaining.
HunterX
hunter

Postby KAhunter » Sat Apr 19, 2008 5:33 am

can sunflowers do well in a field with no cultivation. We are planting them this year and can spray every day if we need to but we are unable to cultivate between the rows, which most farmers recommnd. Anyone know if it is possible to have a weed free field without cultivation??
"If you have to be crazy to be a duck hunter, i dont wish to be sane" Robert Ruark

Its always duck season, there is just a long break from february to september.
KAhunter
hunter

Postby olddkguide » Sun Apr 20, 2008 11:36 am