Shot size

Canadas and Specks (Whitefronts). A place to discuss Canada goose hunting tips, tactics, and reports.

Moderators: Skyblaster7, Cupped-n-Committed, smitty2640

Shot size

Postby BGHHH » Mon Sep 07, 2009 3:24 pm

Hi! I am new to goose hunting and just bought two boxes of 2 shot 3 inch ultra shok high density federal. Well this be okay for geese?
BGHHH
Newb

Re: Shot size

Postby FeatherFanatic » Mon Sep 07, 2009 3:45 pm

it would probally cause more cripples then anything. ill shoot #2 3 1/2" black could in a pinch but 3" shells id go to BB
R.I.P Dusty miller
You can never have to much money, calls, guns or honey holes
FeatherFanatic
hunter

Postby WeimerHeimer » Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:47 am

I used #2 Hevi-Metal this past Monday hunting. I shot one Canadian Goose with it and it was a nice clean kill. I've found the Early Season birds here in PA are smaller birds than we get in the Late Season, so I go with #2 shot. Now in the fall I'll step it up a bit and go with BB.

More importantly, you need to pattern your gun. See how it shoots with #2 shot VS. #BB shot AND try different chokes while you're at it. Every gun shoots differently.

Good Luck!
Atlantic Flyway
Member:
DU
NRA
York Riflemen
Team Flock Busters
WeimerHeimer
hunter

Postby Brent » Wed Sep 09, 2009 4:13 pm

Geese are weird.

I hit one three times Saturday with 3.5" Remington HD BB's and it soaked up all three chunk producing hits before it hit the water with its head still up. It was shockingly huge and none of us ever recalled seeing one anywhere near this big during the early season. It was a monster.

The same morning I shot a normal size bird with 3" #4 Hevi-Shot that were old enough to be Remington labeled that folded the goose with one hit.

I always think I have the right goose load figured out then something weird happens.

Brent
Brent
hunter

Postby NickK » Sat Sep 12, 2009 12:58 pm