Goose Hunting for Dummies

Canadas and Specks (Whitefronts). A place to discuss Canada goose hunting tips, tactics, and reports.

Moderators: Skyblaster7, Cupped-n-Committed, smitty2640

Goose Hunting for Dummies

Postby waterdogds » Sun Aug 26, 2012 7:50 am

Let me start by saying, I know zip about goose hunting. Being born and raised in N. Florida, I've never really thought about it until recently. Florida has also changed its laws on goose hunting, allowing us to hunt them state wide. I know of a few ag fields that have held some migratory birds in the past, but due to the laws then, hunting or harvesting was prohibited in that area. The birds I've seen in the past weren't in great numbers, so do I need a butt load of decoys. Again, please forgive my ignorance. My water fowl knowledge is limited to ducks, in which I'm still learning. My field hunting experience is limited to dove hunting. I just need a few pointers to head me in the right direction.

Number of decoys?
How important is calling and can it be effective if calling alone?(myself being the lone and inexperienced caller)
Any other essentials to consider.

Thanks for any advice. :thumbsup:
"He who knows nothing is closer to the truth than he whose mind is filled with falsehoods and errors." Thomas Jefferson
waterdogds
hunter

Re: Goose Hunting for Dummies

Postby shootable Goose » Sun Aug 26, 2012 10:12 am

For decoys, I would mimick the spreads of what you see the geese doing. Typically in the early season, it's small groups of 4-5 spread out through a field. If I were you I would get 6-12 full bodies, and then some sleeper shells.
For calling, just make sure you don't call to much, if you only have 6 decoys out, dont blow your call like you have 6 dozen...
Concealment is key when field hunting. Try and use as much natural vegetation to conceal your layout blind (if that's what your using) and watch out for copperheads and eastern diamondbacks. :thumbsup: