Goose Hunting Questions

Canadas and Specks (Whitefronts). A place to discuss Canada goose hunting tips, tactics, and reports.

Moderators: Skyblaster7, Cupped-n-Committed, smitty2640

Goose Hunting Questions

Postby WoundedKnee14 » Fri Sep 07, 2012 8:34 pm

Hello all, in case you don't know me my name is Jarrod Simpson and I've been an avid Maine duck hunter for several years now. I'm closing in on eighteen and have taken an interest in honkers this year but my old man and I don't have much experience with them aside from jumpshooting. I'm looking to make some purchases soon and have a few questions that hopefully someone can give me feedback on as I'm no expert. :help:

Is there a specific brand of call that you think works best?
What types of decoys should I be looking to purchase?
Do you think I should hunt fields or a body of water? If fields then what kinds i.e barley, wheat, corn, etc?
Lastly, what types of shot do you prefer i.e steel, tungsten, bismuth and what sizes? Preferably not steel though, I hate it.

I've been hearing of numerous success stories in my neck of the woods so I'm itching to get out soon. If one of you experienced hunters out there could give me some advice I'd greatly appreciate it. Thanks a ton and best of luck hunting! :thumbsup:

Jarrod
WoundedKnee14
hunter

Re: Goose Hunting Questions

Postby Blackfoot down » Mon Sep 10, 2012 11:22 pm

Jarrod,
First, I typically use BB for geese. I like Fastseel by Kent. I use steel all the time because $5 shells seem hard to justify for any hunting! I know that some of the "heavy" loads are great, but they need to bring the price down for me to use them regularly. Also, I usually use 3 inch shells. A lot of guys like 3 1/2 but with good shooting, 3 1/2 isn't needed.