tips for field hunting

Canadas and Specks (Whitefronts). A place to discuss Canada goose hunting tips, tactics, and reports.

Moderators: Skyblaster7, Cupped-n-Committed, smitty2640

tips for field hunting

Postby geotreb » Wed Oct 18, 2006 6:07 pm

I'm pretty new to goose hunting, but want to try hunting from fields.
I'm in MT and we have quite a bit of big river water near productive grain fields (wheat, barley, oat, alfalfa and some potatoes).

Any good tips for hunting geese in field situations like that? Mostly, I'm looking at irrigated fields (harvested this year) within 4 miles of big rivers (like the Missouri) and large lakes that I know hold geese.
Is that sort of distance too far to be considered a good place to hunt?

I know, I know, you have to see if they feed on that field, but if my options are limited (ie, public ground) have any of you taken a chance on setting a spread on a field that far from water with the hope geese might take a look at your spread, without confirming that geese are actively feeding there?

I do know that geese at least fly OVER those fields.....

Any other general tips for the novice goose hunting, that you wish you knew when you started out?

Thanks guys!
geotreb
hunter

Postby NickCies80 » Wed Oct 18, 2006 6:33 pm

You can hunt those spots if you know that geese are flying over. Alot of people call it "running traffic." This is what we mainly do because it is hard to gain permission some times. Anyhow the theroy most use for running traffice is a large number of decoys to pull birds into a place they don't really want to go. I would give it a try with whatever decoys you could muster and get a flag to gain the birds attention. That is not saying you won't shoot birds with a small number of decoys, this is just what many people go by. If you have anymore questions go ahead an post them on this thread and I am sure they will get prompt answers and advice.

Nick
NEED SLEEP!
NickCies80
State Moderator