geese decoy start up

Canadas and Specks (Whitefronts). A place to discuss Canada goose hunting tips, tactics, and reports.

Moderators: Skyblaster7, Cupped-n-Committed, smitty2640

geese decoy start up

Postby broncodan » Mon Aug 05, 2013 6:09 pm

Hey guys,
so im relatively new to waterfowl hunting and especially goose hunting! but i love going out. I have about 3 dozen floater duck decoys. ie mallard and teals. but this year i wanted to get into field hunting. I have a few fields in my area but who knows if thats going to be the X come season start. but i was wondering about decoy set up. I was wondering what you guys recommend for a good starter set up. type of decoys and amounts. i bought a lay out blind but im looking into geting some decs. Im just out of college so im balling on a budget. is a starter pack with about 6 to 12 full bodies and some feeder socks for fillers the way yo go???
thank
dan
broncodan
hunter

Re: geese decoy start up

Postby dsm16428 » Mon Aug 05, 2013 9:16 pm

Try looking on Goose Hunting Chat.
Big Al's "Take-Em" Style Silhoutte Decoy Pro-Staff.
N.O. Outdoors Guide Service, President and CEO. "You try harder so we don't have to."
Don't do anything you wouldn't want to admit to the paramedics after.
dsm16428
hunter

Postby tornadochaser » Tue Aug 06, 2013 9:54 am

4 dozen silhouettes.

Sent from my DROID Pro using Tapatalk 2
tornadochaser
hunter

Postby cut_un » Tue Aug 06, 2013 5:13 pm

Agree with DSM... come on over to GHC and talk goose with us! To answer your question.... Think Silos. Won't break your bank and rthose things will work! Trust me :thumbsup:
Big Al's" Take 'Em" Silhouettes Pro Staff

Team Chasin' Feathers
Eastern Shore Rod & Gun Club
Share your passion, take a kid hunting!
cut_un
hunter

Postby broncodan » Tue Aug 06, 2013 10:15 pm

thanks guy! that helps. Im think the silos as well! and i dont have to fill the garage with full bodies!Good luck this upcoming year!
broncodan
hunter