Season coming to an End!

Canadas and Specks (Whitefronts). A place to discuss Canada goose hunting tips, tactics, and reports.

Moderators: Skyblaster7, Cupped-n-Committed, smitty2640

Season coming to an End!

Postby sparky » Sat Dec 09, 2006 7:54 am

Well with our Canadian hunting seasons coming to an end what has everyone learned this year??

Myself.........

I have learned that even though I have been waterfowl hunting for 12 years now I keep learning something new......

Need to scout out some new areas for next year as my old spot, which I have been hunting for several years is finally getting know by others and the birds are starting to become aware of my blind.

I never thought I'd see any teal in my area but I hunted not a 1/4 of a mile away from my blind and there were all kinds so I got my first teal this year.

Also I learned a great deal form a new hunting friend this year from hunting his spots..... Also got my first black duck ever as well......

As for the geese. over the summer months they did a big banding in my area and I saw a lot of banded geese... thought it was going to a good year to get a few. Well not sure where they went because I didn't get a one!! Don't be over confident is the leasson learned their!

So how about everyone else?

Any lessons learned or any nice experiences you'd like to share....

sparky
sparky
hunter

Postby Ross R » Wed Dec 13, 2006 8:43 am

i havent been waterfowling for as long as you (only 3 seasons i started when i was 16) but i find myself learning a whole lot of things every time i go out.

Goose flags when used at the right times are deadly.
Shooting from a laydown blind is a whole lot different then shooting while standing.
Motion in a duck spread is key
when the ice looks safe it probobly isnt
full body duck decoys WORK! i have never been able to decoy mallards into cut corn fields here in NH and i put out 1/2 doz of th ghg full body ducks and those babys were on a fishing line to my spread.