Cleaning and gutting first duck.

What's cooking?! A forum to share your favorite duck recipes, goose recipes, wild game recipes, and smoking; along with how to prepare game before hand.

Moderators: Indaswamp, brassass, daffy...

Cleaning and gutting first duck.

Postby rcnut143 » Wed Apr 04, 2007 8:22 pm

sorry for asking a repeted question but I'm new to this and couldn't really find exactly what I was looking for. :huh: What is the best way to clean and gut a duck? I live in Illinois so mostly Mallards. Pictures and links would be most appreciated

Thanks,
Marc
rcnut143
Newb

Postby quackerwacker » Thu Apr 05, 2007 6:42 pm

:welcome:
Sorry I can't post any pics but I can tell you what works for me.
1) Pull off a few handfulls of feathers from the breast exposing the skin.
2) Find the breast bone and cut the skin the length of the breast bone
3) Pull the skin back towards the wings exposing the entire breast
4) Cut straight the breast the length of the breast bone to the ribs, following the ribs until the breast is removed.
Try wrapping the breasts in bacon and marinating in Terryaki sauce. Cook medium rare on the BBQ! Enjoy. :thumbsup:
2009-2010 totals
Canada Geese: 5
Mallards: 14
Wood ducks:0
Widgeon: 0
Gadwall: 0
Pintail: 5
Green Wing Teal: 5
Bands: none yet this year!
quackerwacker
hunter

Postby jehler » Sun Jul 15, 2007 6:58 pm

jehler
thread hi-jacking expert and a great guy

Postby Female Goose Hunter » Mon Jul 16, 2007 9:45 am

I just split them down the breastbone and pop the breast out, as for cookin em, i roll em in flour pan fry em, throw em in a casarole dish with some mushroom soup and finish cookin em in the oven. very tasty

Remember if ya cant tell what it is before ya shoot, dont pull the trigger :thumbsup:
Female Goose Hunter
hunter

Postby TKEEKU » Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:24 pm