are mergansers good eating birds???

What's cooking?! A forum to share your favorite duck recipes, goose recipes, wild game recipes, and smoking; along with how to prepare game before hand.

Moderators: Indaswamp, brassass, daffy...

are mergansers good eating birds???

Postby FLYINGHUNTER » Sun Aug 19, 2007 9:45 pm

im new to the duck hunting world, and i have been seeing quite a few common mergansers around where i plan on hunting. just wondering on if i have a good eating bird or if it isnt worth shooting. thanks
FLYINGHUNTER
hunter

Postby KS_PuddleJumper » Mon Aug 20, 2007 4:53 am

their fishy diets make them... uhhhh... less than desirable table fare to most. If you are brave enough to give it a whirl, soak them for a long time in something. To answer your question, w yeah, e elect not to shoot them for that reason...
KS_PuddleJumper
hunter

Postby young ducker » Sat Aug 25, 2007 1:10 pm

I ask this same que. in the honey hole and got laughed at. I also posted it on a another site and was given a recipe that is said to be good. you first cut the breasts into strips about the size of your thumb than soak the in salt water over night. Than soak the strips in butter milk for a night or 2. Than coat them in your favorite coating and fry.

Just a hint "DON'T BAKE THEM"
If it Flies, It dies!!
young ducker
hunter

Postby bcas » Wed Sep 05, 2007 12:37 am

I think they taste horrible so I don't shoot them.
bcas
hunter

Postby NHDuckHunter » Wed Sep 05, 2007 10:48 am

I like how they taste, but they are so stupid I normally don't shoot them. Damn things swim in to my spread, and even when I shoot over their heads at incoming birds they still just stay there.
NHDuckHunter
hunter

Postby KS_PuddleJumper » Wed Sep 05, 2007 11:48 am

out of.. we'll call it morbid curiosity (never met someone who "likes how they taste") - how do you prepare them to make them... errr... (gulps) "tasty"?
KS_PuddleJumper
hunter

Postby NHDuckHunter » Wed Sep 05, 2007 12:47 pm