My FIRST layout boat build

A duck boat forum to discuss duck hunting boats, mud motors, and everything related.

Moderators: jamesmc, Dogman, NCSUDucker, nitrousneil

My FIRST layout boat build

Postby 2500hdon37s » Thu Jun 28, 2012 11:18 pm

Alright I decided to build my own! I found a set of plans for a KARA hummer boat and it looks fairly easy to build and its exactly what I want! I have a few friends lined up to help me and hopefully it'll be done in a few weeks as I work a full time job. Being 18 this is my first real (big) carpentry project, but I have lots of experience with metal projects... so maybe that'll help some!

I plan to build the boat per plans, with a few modifications such as a more square rear/ transom on it to maximize some space for the battery. then Paint it a brownish/ green with some cat tail stripes. As well I'm keeping receipts of everything I buy to build the boat with.

So lets get to work! :hammer:
So far I have bought the plans, motor, and a few misc. things to get started.
Minn Kota trolling motor and Everstart Maxx marine battery- $70 (craigslist! :hi: )
KARA boat plans- $37
Misc. things from Harbor freight- $7
I should have the rest of the material as soon as the plans show up so I know what I'll need!

any tips and tricks will be GREATLY helpful and appreciated!
NRA and DU member, are you? if not you should be!

rabbitdundied wrote: I use my mojos in places I don't want birds to land.
2500hdon37s
Forum Moderator

Re: My FIRST layout boat build

Postby hunth2ofowl » Fri Jun 29, 2012 12:07 am

You will really enjoy the kara - I have hunted out of them and owned one at one point. Be prepared for the weight - if you have a small trailer it should be fine. Saw a guy who used a clear coat over camo netting to camo his boat - pretty cool.