Cold weather with outboards?

A duck boat forum to discuss duck hunting boats, mud motors, and everything related.

Moderators: jamesmc, Dogman, NCSUDucker, nitrousneil

Cold weather with outboards?

Postby PAwaterfowldominator » Tue Sep 10, 2013 3:35 am

This is my first year with a duck boat. I've owned boats my whole life but have never ran them past september. Up here in the Northwest, I've always had my boats winterized by October.

My concerns are running my outboard in freezing temps and then towing it home in freezing temps after use. Please give me some tips on what you guys do to prevent damage to your outboards in colder temps.
PAwaterfowldominator
hunter

Re: Cold weather with outboards?

Postby Smith » Tue Sep 10, 2013 4:24 am

I don't do anything. It has never been a problem. If the motor is standing upright when it is shut off, all the water drains down out of it right away.
Smith
hunter

Postby Sandor27 » Tue Sep 10, 2013 9:26 am

I've been told to keep the motor leg in the water if you are hunting while below freezing, to keep the impeller from freezing. A trimmed up motor does not drain 100% and you risk freezing and possible housing cracking.
Sandor27
hunter

Postby mauserfan » Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:20 am

Sandor27 pretty much said it. Have hunted only above the 48th parallel and with many mornings at 0 or below. Kept motor in the water and all that was needed was a good warm up. One morning was -24 and had to break ice most of the 14 miles back to mainland. Also, if hunting daytime temps are cold you need to keep motor down as well. If mixing gas you'll need to richen it up a little as well. I keep Seafoam in the tank as well. Just think of every move twice before doing it and be safe. mauser :wink:
The greatest duck call known to mankind?....A fresh cup of coffee from the Thermos.
mauserfan
hunter

Postby gearhead80 » Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:37 am