Layout boat questions

A duck boat forum to discuss duck hunting boats, mud motors, and everything related.

Moderators: jamesmc, Dogman, NCSUDucker, nitrousneil

Layout boat questions

Postby OmegaRed » Fri Nov 08, 2013 1:20 pm

I've been contemplating a few different boat options for the last 2 years. What I'm really interested in is something that I can hunt rivers with and also use as a layout on big water (Lake Erie). I'd like to have room for a dog behind, but it's not essential, especially if I have a motor. If I get something that's can handle a decent enough motor, I might just use a kayak for the skinny water aspect of it.

On the rivers and skinny water was planning on building a mud motor, and using either an outboard for big water or having a tender. What determines the big water worthiness? Would you ever use a aquapod for a layout in big water? What about Momarsh fatboy or DP? Or do you have to use a dedicated layout that is pumpkinseed shaped?

Thanks
I just pooped my pants.
OmegaRed
Fabio

Re: Layout boat questions

Postby mudpack » Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:02 pm

You may be asking too much of one boat. You cannot use a true layout boat to run rivers. You cannot even put a motor on it. Sounds like you need two boats for two completely different applications.

As far as using an AquaPod for big water layout, the answer is no. It isn't designed for that and could easily become dangerous.
I use an AquaPod for a layout boat/blind, with a larger, powered 'tender', on the shallow marshes and it is an awesome tool, but I would never take it on big water.
mudpack
hunter

Postby Smith » Sat Nov 09, 2013 3:52 pm

Mudpack is exactly right; those little marsh boats are not appropriate for big water. Use a real layout boat for this. The big-water seaworthiness comes from a combination of things: