outboard problems

A duck boat forum to discuss duck hunting boats, mud motors, and everything related.

Moderators: jamesmc, Dogman, NCSUDucker, nitrousneil

outboard problems

Postby Take em boys » Wed Nov 13, 2013 9:08 pm

I got a 15 HP sea king from a guy who said it worked a few years ago. I replaced the plugs put a new recoil spring on cleaned the crap out of the carb and fuel filter were it goes into the pump. diaphragm looks good the one way valve looked good. I can get it started for about 1 min then it sputters out and dies, I pump the bulb until I can here it fill the bowl in the carb the restart it same thing, but if I pump the bulb manualy it still dies????

right when I quit trying I noticed the 2 cylinders were HOT water was sizziling when it hit them ;/ im brand new with outboards but mechanicly inclined just kinda stumped here were shall I start???

Colton
"Waterfowl hunting, Its not something you preform halfway. You either try it and hate it, Or it gets in your blood and you cant live with out it.
-Zink crew
Take em boys
hunter

Re: outboard problems

Postby Take em boys » Thu Nov 14, 2013 12:14 am

just dropped the lower unit impeller looks brand new
"Waterfowl hunting, Its not something you preform halfway. You either try it and hate it, Or it gets in your blood and you cant live with out it.
-Zink crew
Take em boys
hunter

Postby T Man » Thu Nov 14, 2013 12:34 am

Take em boys wrote:I got a 15 HP sea king from a guy who said it worked a few years ago. I replaced the plugs put a new recoil spring on cleaned the crap out of the carb and fuel filter were it goes into the pump. diaphragm looks good the one way valve looked good. I can get it started for about 1 min then it sputters out and dies, I pump the bulb until I can here it fill the bowl in the carb the restart it same thing, but if I pump the bulb manualy it still dies????