Suggestions for duck boat

A duck boat forum to discuss duck hunting boats, mud motors, and everything related.

Moderators: jamesmc, Dogman, NCSUDucker, nitrousneil

Suggestions for duck boat

Postby tarheel5 » Sat Mar 01, 2014 4:34 pm

I no there are lots of thoughts on boats but I am new to duck hunting and fell in love with it. I went to arkansas but live in South Carolina so in home state I will primary hunt flooded timber and looking for a boat to hold two hunters. I have never owned a boat so a rookie to say the least and not wanting to spend $15,000.00 any suggestions. Thanks for helping a newbie out

Jack
tarheel5
Newb

Re: Suggestions for duck boat

Postby Mark F. Cheney » Sat Mar 01, 2014 4:57 pm

Every one drives a used duck boat - every one. So with that in mind may I suggest that you haunt Craigs list to find your used duck boat. There is a big turn over in boats - just like shot guns and automobiles. Affordably priced boats on Craigs list only last a few days. So you have to be constantly current on new postings to be a lucky winner of a well priced boat. $400 -$500 will get you a reasonable 14 -15 foot jon boat. It will often come with a trailer too. I prefer a 42" to 48" wide bottom. I wouldn't get any thing narrower than 36" wide bottom. Naturally for a motor, I prefer my own, utahmarshmotors.com. for a mud motor. For the a for mentioned size boats 14 HP seems to be the preferred ideal. Occasionally some one uses something as small as a 7 HP and for a 48" wide bottom some folks will mount a 25 HP motor. Finances often dictate the final motor choice. Buy as big as you can afford. A deal is often found on Craigs list again . A well maintained motor is not to be afraid of from a reputable maker. A motor and boat makes an amazing contribution to expanding your geographical hunting opportunities.

Welcome to the sport and have fun.

Mark f. Cheney
utahmarshmotors.com on the Great Salt Lake marsh

801 721 3293
Mark F. Cheney
DHC Sponsor