Tracker Grizzly Jon Help!

A duck boat forum to discuss duck hunting boats, mud motors, and everything related.

Moderators: jamesmc, Dogman, NCSUDucker, nitrousneil

Tracker Grizzly Jon Help!

Postby TxAg2014 » Sat Jun 14, 2014 11:56 am

Howdy guys,

So I'm a college student looking to buy my first boat. Looking for a good all around boat that I can hunt, fish, bowfish, etc. I have found a 2004 Tracker Grizzly 15ft that is 5ft wide. It has a 2004 20hp 2 stroke mercury tiller handle on it. The guy selling is the original owner of both and he says it has low hours. I've talked him down to $2300 on it. Is that a good price for this boat? Also I've read online that Tracker jons have issues with the welds? Any opinions y'all have would be greatly appreciated! Oh and one more question. I'm concerned that 20hp on that boat might not push it to well after its loaded with gear, dog, and a couple of hunters. Do y'all think 20hp is enough to do the job?

I attached some pics for reference!

Thanks in advance!

Boat 1.jpg

Boat 2.jpg

Boat 3.jpg
Gig 'Em
TxAg2014
hunter

Re: Tracker Grizzly Jon Help!

Postby Rhock19 » Sat Jun 14, 2014 2:50 pm

looks like a nice rog for the price. they are common to find cracked welds on these boats, however if you dont overload it i doubt ud have a problem. What is the max hp rating for the boat?
Rhock19
hunter

Postby TxAg2014 » Sat Jun 14, 2014 3:10 pm

That's what I was thinking. But the whole cracked hull thing makes me nervous. I've read on here that some grizzlys are good as gold and others have the broken weld problems. I would think that since this is an 04 model that maybe some problems would have already showed up by now but who knows. I mean I'm not planning on beating the piss outta the boat but the occasional hitting a stump is a possibility in the lakes around here. And I'm not sure on the max hp rating, the guy said he can get it up to 30 mph on his gps. But that's not with all of the gear and weight