Kayak gear

A duck boat forum to discuss duck hunting boats, mud motors, and everything related.

Moderators: jamesmc, Dogman, NCSUDucker, nitrousneil

Kayak gear

Postby No_mallard_man » Mon Jun 16, 2014 6:33 pm

Hello all I'm new to this type of information exchange and wish to try my luck

We'll my question is about kayak gear I recently scored a 12 ft sit inside flat bottom kayak no clue what brand I bought it used and have forgotten the brand

I got the kayak, paddle, and life vest for an amazing $50 and before you ask yes I tried it before I bought it
And no holes and no water shooting through the bottom

Now onto the question I plan to use my kayak as kind of a lone hunter set up to get away and also as a "bird dog" kind of deal also just to hunt with and step my game up

Some of the bigger points would be shotgun/paddle storage depending on which I'm using at the time

Along with decoys, taken birds, camo, and all other essentials (shells, ciggerettes, lighter, etc.)

Let me know what y'all do or we'll really anything

Any help would be greatly appreciated
No_mallard_man
hunter

Re: Kayak gear

Postby Honk-n-quack » Mon Jun 16, 2014 9:56 pm

Put some stabilizers on it. I've flipped kayaks shooting out of them. ATV gun racks work well for holding paddle or shotgun. Just tow the decoys behind you, and make a mount on the stabilizers for your blind bag
Honk-n-quack
hunter

Postby HNTFSH » Tue Jun 17, 2014 6:40 am

It sounds like you plan to hunt out of the Kayak. God be with you.
Cabela's Worlds FARCEMOST Outfitter
HNTFSH
Mr. Plond

Postby No_mallard_man » Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:12 am

Yes I plan to actually hunt out of the kayak

Please expand on stabilizer bars ?

Like I understand basically what your saying I need but what kind of design do you suggest?

And also I gotta haul this thing in the bed of my truck so I can't make it to wide or bulky
No_mallard_man
hunter

Postby HNTFSH » Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:19 am