BIRD ID

A forum to discuss taxidermy techniques and mounts.

Moderators: Pete-pec, sprigpig1

BIRD ID

Postby flyingdog » Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:51 pm

My buddy shot these two birds a few weeks ago in central NC. Flew in with a group of Canadas. At first glance I believed them to be either juvenile specks (unheard of around here) or greylags. If im not mistaken the greylags would be more of farm goose around here, right? There were no bars on the chest, but do have some small amounts of black splotches coming thru on the chest. i am by no means an expert on waterfowl id, so still not sure. he wants to put them on the wall but wanted find out what they are first, just so he isn't mounting somebodys pet farm goose. I thought if anyone could help us id them it would be waterfowl taxidermist. Any opinions on what these birds may be???

goose.jpg

goose2.jpg

goose3.jpg
Attachments
goose3.jpg
goose3.jpg (24.88 KiB) Viewed 3344 times
goose2.jpg
goose2.jpg (16.08 KiB) Viewed 3344 times
goose.jpg
goose.jpg (13.5 KiB) Viewed 3344 times
flyingdog
hunter

BIRD ID

Postby jimmyscott » Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:56 pm

I think they're specks.
jimmyscott
hunter

Re: BIRD ID

Postby flyingdog » Sun Dec 09, 2012 10:01 pm

by jimmyscott » Sun Dec 09, 2012 10:56 pm

I think they're specks.

i honestly have never seen a speck in person before. you think they are just really young?
flyingdog
hunter

Postby wanapasaki » Sun Dec 09, 2012 10:12 pm

look like juvi specks, good eating too :beer:
Give a man a duck... Feed him for a day... Teach him to fowl hunt... Feed him for a lifetime...Teach him in your spot... Learn to hunt a different spot....
wanapasaki
hunter

BIRD ID

Postby jimmyscott » Sun Dec 09, 2012 10:16 pm

Yes. I killed one last year that was the same way. Have you breasted them out yet? They are GOOD eating! As for mounting, I'd wait till I shot one with bars on its chest, but that's just me.
jimmyscott
hunter

Postby flyingdog » Sun Dec 09, 2012 10:22 pm