Help

A forum to discuss taxidermy techniques and mounts.

Moderators: Pete-pec, sprigpig1

Help

Postby ALaguaite » Tue Jan 29, 2013 7:43 pm

Hey fellas Im new to taxidermy or doing it myself I should say and I have a few ducks to do. Out of 2 redheads, mottled duck, black belly whistler, grey duck and a woodie which one do y'all suggest I do first. And any other beginner advice would be helpful. Thanks!
Gwt-6
Bwt-5
Scaup-4
Hooded merganser-2
Mottled-2
Goldeneye-1
Gadwall-6
ALaguaite
hunter

Re: Help

Postby duxrus » Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:41 pm

Redheads......because a diver's skin is tougher. The anatomy is a little tougher to get correct (leg placement) but since we are talking about a learning curve anyway I would keep the woodie tucked away for awhile :thumbsup:
duxrus
hunter

Postby ALaguaite » Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:52 pm

Awesome thanks alot! The woodie is gonna be last Deffinitely. The mottled duck I have was shot out of the marsh and was winged and went down. It's wing was kind of infected and had a little odor to it. Is there any way I could get the smell out or is it really not worth it?
Gwt-6
Bwt-5
Scaup-4
Hooded merganser-2
Mottled-2
Goldeneye-1
Gadwall-6
ALaguaite
hunter

Postby duxrus » Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:02 pm

I would "guess" after a good washing in Dawn that the odor should dissapate. I use the APPLE scented and it definitely helps with sea ducks and thier horrid smell. Once you invert the wings and clean them out there shouldn't be much left in there to smell. Odds are it has a nice infection going on. I would suggest using latex gloves on that one just to be on th safe side. :thumbsup:
duxrus
hunter

Postby ALaguaite » Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:17 pm

Will do thanks a million! :beer:
Gwt-6
Bwt-5
Scaup-4
Hooded merganser-2
Mottled-2
Goldeneye-1
Gadwall-6
ALaguaite
hunter

Postby Pete-pec » Wed Jan 30, 2013 8:50 am

good advice, but Brian and I normally agree on everything! lol