A question for the Experts here.

A forum to discuss taxidermy techniques and mounts.

Moderators: Pete-pec, sprigpig1

A question for the Experts here.

Postby Frank Lopez » Fri Feb 22, 2013 1:26 pm

I've been mounting birds for about 45 years. I started out with some lessons from the old Northwestern School of Taxidermy that someone gave me. As you can imagine, the methods were pretty crude by comparison to today's methods. Over the years, the methods and whatever refinements I'd read were "good enough". Now, being retired, I find myself with more time and little to do. So, this past year I laid in a stock of birds that I'm going to mount over the spring and summer. I'm going to concentrate on improvement in areas where I've been "lacking".

The first is going to be injecting the feet. From reading here, I gather that Master Blend is the way to go. I've found a supplier on line and am going to order some shortly. So it comes down to two questions. Where do you fellows get the needles? and what is the process for injecting the feet? How much is injected? Does the stuff shrink back after it dries? Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks again,

Frank
I feel slightly sorry for a man who has never patterned his gun, who has no idea how far his chosen load will retain killing penetration. But I'm extremely sorry for the ducks he shoots at beyond the killing range of his gun and load - Bob Brister
Frank Lopez
hunter

Re: A question for the Experts here.

Postby Cougar125 » Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:58 pm

You can get needles from a local vet clinic or farm store. As far as your other questions, I don't know yet.
There are no ducks in the desert!
Cougar125
hunter

Postby 1080tommy » Fri Feb 22, 2013 4:20 pm

I got my supplies this year from Mckenzie and they had syringes for a pretty reasonable price as well as needles to go with them.
1080tommy
hunter

Postby duxrus » Fri Feb 22, 2013 4:24 pm

Get them from Publix for .19 cents each. I buy them by the box of 100.
duxrus
hunter