Skinning question

A forum to discuss taxidermy techniques and mounts.

Moderators: Pete-pec, sprigpig1

Skinning question

Postby sc_countryboy26 » Wed Dec 06, 2006 12:42 pm

I am just beginning to try to mount a few ducks. I was woundering if you can skin the duck out and then refreeze the skin until you get ready to mount and if you can, is there some special way to freeze it? Any advice will be appreciated..
sc_countryboy26
hunter

Postby huntmq1 » Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:29 pm

As long as you kept it cool and made quick work of the skinning, I wouldn't see why not. I'd just put it back in a wal-mart bag or two and lay it flat. Shouldn't be that big of a deal.
:salude:
Hey, did you grab the blind bag with the shells when we left the truck?
Safetys, use them: If you can see red, you can get dead!
huntmq1
hunter

Postby bird man » Thu Dec 07, 2006 5:37 am

I skin all of mine and degrease and wash and then refreeze. When i get several ready then i just mount.
bird man
hunter

Postby Pete-pec » Thu Dec 07, 2006 7:23 am

I'm with Bird man. I skin, flesh, and wash, then I freeze them in water, then I vacuum wrap them. They will last for a real long time kept this way.

-Pete
Pete-pec
Forum & State Moderator

freezing

Postby sc_countryboy26 » Thu Dec 07, 2006 7:57 am

When you freeze them in water, do you completely cover them. Like put them in a bag and fill the bag with water and freeze it or what?
sc_countryboy26
hunter

Postby Yellowdog38 » Thu Dec 07, 2006 8:46 am