I have a question for you experienced taxidermists

A forum to discuss taxidermy techniques and mounts.

Moderators: Pete-pec, sprigpig1

I have a question for you experienced taxidermists

Postby Coot Man » Fri Dec 29, 2006 11:21 am

I have been messing around with taxidermy now for about a year as a hobby. Self-taught guy who has finished a drake mallard and I have a speckled belly goose in the drying stage right now. The duck is flying, and the speckled has his feet down and wings back, preparing to land.

My question is that I really wanted my speckled belly to be a standing pose, but I couldn't get the wings to tuck naturally and "disappear" and look natural. Can anyone help me with some hints or suggestion on how to make this happen? I am using a light guage wire for flexibility and removing the humorus (spelling?) bone out on the non flying poses, but the wing has a tendancy to sit on top of the feathers, and looks very unnatural.

Thanks in advance for any help offered.
You've got to stand for something or you will fall for anything...
Coot Man
hunter

Postby Pete-pec » Fri Dec 29, 2006 1:14 pm

You need to find the "wing pocket". If you notice the row of feathers that your wing was wanting to sit on rather than sitting in, those are the feathers I'm referring to. I have cut a relief in the actual form so it has a recess in the form allowing it to sit deeper towards the body. Also you can eliminate the fine wire all together, by taking some floral wire and threading both wings together through the form using a long Needle to achieve this. I'm giving you a brief over-view, and expect you'll have a few questions, so feel free to ask more specific questions where you may not be understanding. You will need to take the wing and pull away from the pocket (towards the tail) and drive them downwards towards the breast a bit.