Question for Exp. Taxidermists

A forum to discuss taxidermy techniques and mounts.

Moderators: Pete-pec, sprigpig1

Question for Exp. Taxidermists

Postby matchbook454 » Mon Jan 01, 2007 1:33 pm

I am getting started in learning taxidermy, primarily waterfowl and upland birds. I found a breeder to get pen raised birds from since they would be easier to learn on than shot up birds. I found a guy that had pinioned mallards that he would give me for practically nothing and wasn't sure if they would be ok for standing mounts or not. What do you guys think? I'm just not 100% sure what bone they clip and which feathers would be missing. Since I have no experience I am also not sure how visible those feathers would be on a standing bird.
Also, I have come accross a few videos that are out there but am not sure which ones would be best. Any reccomendations?
matchbook454
hunter

Postby Pete-pec » Mon Jan 01, 2007 4:05 pm

Pinioned birds usually only have one wing clipped. The primary feathers are the ones being clipped (the fingers on the wing). Is it visible? Yes, a bit. On a standing mount it is less visible, and usually the mount has the pinioned wing facing away from the viewer or at the wall. When a duck is in a sitting position, there really isn't much wing showing. Just a bit of the speculum, and the tips of the wings that lay near the tail. The leading edge is almost completely hidden.