Should i mount a black duck?

A forum to discuss taxidermy techniques and mounts.

Moderators: Pete-pec, sprigpig1

Should i mount a black duck?

Postby BigBend » Sun Apr 08, 2007 8:27 pm

i have had this black duck in my freezer for a year and at the time i thought it to be a female mallard or a mottled duck that is only found in florida. i then realized it was a drake black duck. this is real rare to ny neck of the marsh and nobody in my area has killed one. is this by any means wall worthy orshoul i hold off until i get somthing that would be better. i also think the neck is broken will this affect anything? any input will be appreciated
BigBend
State Moderator

Postby wtrfwlr » Sun Apr 08, 2007 10:52 pm

I could be totally wrong about this but from what i was told black ducks are only common on the northeastern coast. I'm from southern illinois and if someone kills a black duck here there is no doubt it's goin on the wall. I've been hunting hard for five years and have seen two black ducks with my own two eyes and i didn't kill either one of them. Maybe i'm just bad luck, but i would mount it
wtrfwlr
hunter

Postby skybuster20ga » Mon Apr 09, 2007 10:37 am

im from maine and we pound the snot out of the blacks up here. there kinda annoying as we can only have 1 a day and they are everywheres. ide say as far as mounting it and asking if its "wall worthy" was there something particularly special about the hunt? or a memory you want to be a conversation peice. it doesnt matter to me if its the best looking duck or biggest buck ive shot or smallest longest beard to me its more of a sentimental thing. my opinion
-keep your booger hook off the bang switch 'till your ready to shoot"
skybuster20ga
hunter

Postby quackerwacker » Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:35 am