What you guys think?

A forum to discuss taxidermy techniques and mounts.

Moderators: Pete-pec, sprigpig1

What you guys think?

Postby montana bound » Sun Mar 16, 2014 2:46 pm

Well I just finished the display I am presenting at the Walleye Unlimited Banquet on April 12th.

What you guys think?

You get out of a dog , what you put into a dog!
montana bound
hunter

Re: What you guys think?

Postby Pete-pec » Sun Mar 16, 2014 5:36 pm

I have very little experience with replicas, and have only mounted a few skin mounts, but depending on the water, walleye can look vey dark and very light. Our fish off of Green Bay are normally pretty gold, and run lighter. I think yours looks fine, especially due to the fact that you have no sort of stencil that the natural skin provides.

Here is the one and only walleye I have that I attempted to mount and paint. 29 inch post spawn caught off the Fox River off of Green Bay. Caught and mounted perhaps six or seven years ago?
Attachments
20140316_182403.jpg
Pete-pec
Forum & State Moderator

Postby pezteq84 » Sun Mar 16, 2014 6:29 pm

I think it looks great but i would like to see the fins roughed up a little and not so perfectly rounded
pezteq84
hunter

Postby montana bound » Sun Mar 16, 2014 6:29 pm

Thanks

Years ago I did both skin and repro mounts but now I only do the repros.
I used a paint schedule I picked up from McKenzies , this is what our walleye look like up here, lots of yellow and greens
Theres 19 colors of paint used in this mount, plus half a pack of 0000 grade steel wool. LOL
I was airbrushing half the day .
montana bound
hunter

Postby Pete-pec » Sun Mar 16, 2014 6:53 pm

And there's maybe 7 colors in that particular mount. Yellow, gold, bronze, white, flesh, green, gill red, and satin sealer.
Pete-pec
Forum & State Moderator

Postby montana bound » Sun Mar 16, 2014 6:53 pm

pezteq84 wrote:I think it looks great but i would like to see the fins roughed up a little and not so perfectly rounded