Newbie... Starter Question

A forum to discuss taxidermy techniques and mounts.

Moderators: Pete-pec, sprigpig1

Newbie... Starter Question

Postby xtrema 1 » Sun Jan 13, 2008 9:01 pm

Hi everyone I'm very new to this taxidermy thing and just starting out. I decided to do a scoter that I harvested this year. I heard there skin is a little thicker than other ducks and easier. I skinned it out allready and removed the brain and muscle around the wing. I am now removing the fat from the skin and there is alot of it. My first question is do you have to remove every little tiny morsle of fat from the skin. If a little tiny bit remains in differant areas on the duck will it be harmfull to the duck mount? What is the best way to do it if I don't have a wire wheel flescher? Is there a web site with instructions on how to make a home made flescher? I bought a book that promoted tanning. Most guys use Borax, what do you think about it? What is the best way to degrease the duck? That book i have wants me to buy all these chemicals. I would cost over a hundred dollars fo all of the chemicals they want me to get. There got to be a cheaper way to degrease it. I could use all the help I can get .

Thanks
xtrema
xtrema 1
hunter

Postby mgriffiths05 » Sun Jan 13, 2008 11:09 pm

i don't have an answer to your fleshing questions but as far as degreasing goes, i have heard alot of people doing 3 to 4 washes in dawn soap as a degreaser
KILL 'EM!!!!
mgriffiths05
hunter

Postby duckbuster808 » Mon Jan 14, 2008 7:00 am