Using the Real Head vs Buying one?

A forum to discuss taxidermy techniques and mounts.

Moderators: Pete-pec, sprigpig1

Using the Real Head vs Buying one?

Postby CHAMP7 » Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:37 pm

I am new to taxidermy and trying to learn as much as possible. So here's a question. You hear that if you use a manufactured skull/head you don't have to worry about the shrinking later. How much does this play into the process of determining which to use. For someone like me who is very new to all this, is it better for me to stick with the natural heads? In the long run, which is going to hold a better more detailed mount? Thanks guys, sorry for so many questions on one topic.
CHAMP7
hunter

Postby Wood-E » Sat Feb 23, 2008 1:02 pm

First - I too am new and have only done about 5 ducks, so...

For what it's worth, my opinion was that using the natural head was the pro's joke on us novice's. They figured they had to suffer through the pain of cleaning and working a natural head, so all of us novice's have to too! :biggrin:

I did 3 ducks with natural heads. I did the last 2 using Eyes, Head, Neck and Mannikins I bought. The difference, atleast to me, was similar to crawling on my hands and knees from Atlantic to Pacific ocean -verse- Flying..... :hammer:

So even though many MUCH more knowledgable people will argue with me, my 1/4 of a cent is to go with technology. That's why it's there, so use it......

wood-e
Just the drakes everyone... Take Um...
Wood-E
hunter

Postby bird man » Sat Feb 23, 2008 3:53 pm