Snows

Snows, Blues, and Ross Geese. A snow goose hunting forum to discuss snow goose hunting tips and tactics.

Moderators: yellowlab, DUJUNKIE

Snows

Postby barryboy08 » Thu Feb 21, 2013 10:20 pm

Hey everyone...

I have been hunting snows for a couple years now and I never have a whole lot of luck. I hunt over about 400 decoys half shells and half sox. We kill a bird or two here and there with the once every three year 10+ day but what are some pointers you guys could share about getting snows locked up and in your face. Im dedicating my whole spring break to Snows and want to be as prepared as possible. Would adding full bodies be something to consider?
Happy Hunting!
barryboy08
hunter

Re: Snows

Postby SAHunter1983 » Thu Feb 21, 2013 10:46 pm

Find the X and use an E-caller and bring the volume down as they come in... Did I mention be on the X?

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
SAHunter1983
hunter

Postby DrakeH2oFowl » Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:05 am

Gotta put in the time to scout. Find where they wanna be or intersect their flight path. Can't stress scouting to find the X enough. Even then sometimes it's tough getting birds to cooperate. We usually run 2-500 mixed of silosocks, silos, shells, fullbodies, and some flyers. I'd invest in some magnums if I was you too. Invest in an ecaller or make your own.

If you have 400 dekes, put most your silosocks upwind and with some shells mixed in but put the shells downwind where geese will be landing to look more realistic. With that being said, I can't stress how important time out scouting is. That will help you out a lot.
DrakeH2oFowl
hunter

Postby neon58 » Fri Feb 22, 2013 7:50 pm