beginner speck calling tip

Information on goose calls and goose calling tips.

Moderators: quackerkiller, Ross R, Oregon Honker

beginner speck calling tip

Postby tako1972 » Wed Jan 04, 2012 7:50 am

Hello, I was wondering if anyone could tell me what they say into the call when doing a two note for specks. I am a beginner and cant get the call to break over right. To me the tone I'm getting is off as well. I am using a Haydels SP-04. Any thoughts on this call as well? Thanks in advance fellas.
tako1972
hunter

Re: beginner speck calling tip

Postby LAspeckiller » Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:36 pm

Check out this link below of a video by Bill Daniels over at Riceland Calls. He does a pretty good demo on the basics of speck calling. As for the Haydel call that is what I started out on and it is not a bad call for that. When you start to learn how to manipulate the call well, you can upgrade to some higher end calls like Riceland, Redbone, or RNT.

But here is the link and if you have some more questions feel free to pm me. But I am by no means an expert at running a speck call and don't claim to be, but will help anyway I can. Good luck!

http://m.youtube.com/index?desktop_uri= ... ccZPynyN-0
"You can get a good look at a T-Bone steak by sticking your head up a bulls ass, but wouldn't you rather take the butchers word for it?"
LAspeckiller
hunter

Postby quackerattacker » Fri Jan 06, 2012 8:29 am

Hi tako'. Try Just hu-hu in the call with more emphasis on the first hu. When you get the feel for it, you'll learn to modify it more into an almost whistle and smooth it out. Kinda hard to explain. I use both hands for back pressure and really choke it down. Never was coordinated enough to do it with one hand. Also prefer to tune it a tad higher than it comes out o the box.

Used an SP yesterday (the RedBone had a little accident) and had a good time...

Good luck!
uhmmmm...ya sure that's a duck...i dunt see no green head
quackerattacker
hunter