Little help please!

Information on goose calls and goose calling tips.

Moderators: quackerkiller, Ross R, Oregon Honker

Little help please!

Postby grizz18 » Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:31 am

I'm relatively new to the goose game, but have quickly become addicted to it. Still love the ducks more, but goose hunting (Canada geese) is something I want to get better at.

I want to learn to call. I have a POS call, and I can make some sounds but I know its nothing the geese want to hear. If you could recommend 1 call and 1 instructional (preferably DVD) what would it be?

I don't want to drop more than $50 on my first decent goose call. Is that reasonable? Are there any good youtubes that anyone knows of? I have a CD for duck calling, but I'm much more of a visual learner and would rather a DVD or movie of some sort.

Thanks in advance for any help. :thumbsup:
grizz18
Squatch Life

Re: Little help please!

Postby tornadochaser » Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:52 am

Buy the Bad Grammar DVD and/or CD and buy a Grounds Poly Super Mag.
tornadochaser
hunter

Postby grizz18 » Tue Jul 31, 2012 8:14 am

tornadochaser wrote:Buy the Bad Grammar DVD and/or CD and buy a Grounds Poly Super Mag.

Thanks man! Whats the difference in the regular poly super mag and custom? Besides $30? :lol3:

Any other opinions out there?
grizz18
Squatch Life

Postby shootable Goose » Tue Jul 31, 2012 10:22 am

Zinks poly pc1 combo with the waterfowl university DVD is great. It's a great call to learn on.
Also field proven is breaking down their adrenaline video and uploading it to YouTube in 20 parts. So far I think they've uploaded about 10 of them. You should check it out.
Bill Herian wrote:I would rather decoy ducks, but geese, geese are another story. Jump shooting geese is like playing dodgeball with fat kids. And I love dodgeball.
shootable Goose
hunter

Postby grizz18 » Tue Jul 31, 2012 11:50 am

Thanks shoot.

So...whatcha guy think?

The Zink w/ CD is ~$30.