Buck Gardner Canada Hammer II

Information on goose calls and goose calling tips.

Moderators: quackerkiller, Ross R, Oregon Honker

Buck Gardner Canada Hammer II

Postby tjkellyc4 » Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:01 am

I am deciding on whether or not to purchase this call. It sounds fine, except i am just a beginner in goose calling and i am affraid of the short read feature. is it easy to work this call??
tjkellyc4
hunter

Postby harvey1b » Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:09 am

:welcome: :welcome:
Welcome to the forum. This is a great place to get information from people who know a lot and love to waterfowl hunt.

What is your back ground with calling?

The Canada Hammer II is a great call and is the call I learned on a few years ago.

Get yourself a CD or DVD to learn fron. You will have to practice some with it if you are new to calling, but you will be able to get most goose sounds out of it with a little work.

Go to a store that has one and see if you can try it out. You should know pretty quickly how you like it. At the same time, it only costs ~$15 so if you buy it and don't like it you won't be out a ton of $$.

Good luck!

:thumbsup:
harvey1b
hunter

Postby duckbuddy » Tue Oct 24, 2006 5:44 pm

Also my first short reed call, but i didn't like it too much. Always seem to freeze up on me. Then again im one of those lazy bastards that dont take time to heat up my calls before i blow, thats why i went acrylic.

DUCK HUNTING ITS NOT ABOUT THE BAG ITS ABOUT GETTING AWAY
duckbuddy
hunter

Postby goosecaller » Wed Oct 25, 2006 4:48 am

Don't be afraid of the short reed, that are not that tough. Takes practice obviously, but anyone can get it down enough to kill geese with. Try a few different ones out or talk to someone at your local sporting goods store.
call 'em in and kill 'em all
goosecaller
hunter

Postby MossyGO! » Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:06 pm