what do you think??

Information on goose calls and goose calling tips.

Moderators: quackerkiller, Ross R, Oregon Honker

what do you think??

Postby sactownslayer4 » Sat Nov 04, 2006 10:20 pm

would be the best call for a beginner goose caller...any help would be greatly appreciated
sactownslayer4
hunter

Postby jjohnson_714 » Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:55 am

im pretty new at calling and after trying several calls (quackhead goozilla, K&H pitboss, and a few miscellanious others) i just bought the cheaper echo poly goose call and it think its just great. its REALLY easy to use and sounds pretty darned goosey. the others were pretty good too, but this one is by far my favorite so far :thumbsup:
jjohnson_714
State Moderator

Postby chrispbrown27 » Sun Nov 05, 2006 4:23 pm

With duck calls I don't mind a cheap one, but with a goose call the higher end calls sound better to me. I have a HG 007 and absolutely love it. The zinks polys sound pretty good too and are easy to blow. I've tried just about all of em out higher and lower end and the Zinks and the Grounds are the only ones I really like. But it's all about personal preference try everything you can out first and then go with what sounds goosey to you.
Vegetarian- Indian word for lousy hunter.
chrispbrown27
hunter

Postby josholney » Mon Nov 13, 2006 9:23 am

I would buy a high end acrylic call right off the bat. The reason for this is once you get into calling you know you are going to buy one later on. Why not buy one now so you wont have to make the switch. Spend the money, you can get away with cheap duck calls but nothing sounds as good as an acrylic goose call.

I own the foiles strait meat honker. I bought it not even knowing how to call. It takes about a year to sound good but I use it hunting and in calling competitions. You get what you pay for!
josholney
hunter

Postby plainsman » Mon Nov 13, 2006 7:25 pm