Duck Hunting Forum banner

Speck call recommendations

3K views 14 replies 7 participants last post by  Bandit29 
#1 ·
I'm new to speck hunting and looking for suggestions on speck calls.

Any help and suggestions would be appreciated.

#5 ·
If you catch the fever, you may end up spending a small fortune chasing the latest or greatest speck call - and find yourself enjoying the greatest success with a decades old model few others have ever cared for. Was reminded of that just last evening by a speck crazed friend who's tried dang near literally every speck call made over the past 30-some seasons and ended up setting some breaking the $200 mark aside for one retailing under $20. Or, like some other long time searchers and myself, you may end up favoring calls from somewhere in the middle of their "evolution" with modifications of your own that make them the perfect fit - at least for now.

That said, I'll second the Riceland suggestion and add that, unless money really is no object, I'd make it the more economical poly version of their standard 5/8" gutted call. Most will probably find it easier to get under way on than any of the many less expensive smaller gutted calls, and it's a fine hunting call that's hugely popular here in SW Louisiana, while still not breaking most banks.

Is there a poly Riceland on my lanyard? No. But there's one (albeit slightly modified) in my pocket most everywhere I go while the specks are down, just in case my travels present an opportunity to talk to some and maybe learn something from them.

#8 ·
Gaston's was briefly the darling of the speck call world when Nathan Wright was winning contests with one, prior to going into business making bigger-gutted Red Bone calls himself. But Nathan might win speck contests blowing a tube sock.