What to do with flute

Information on goose calls and goose calling tips.

Moderators: quackerkiller, Ross R, Oregon Honker

What to do with flute

Postby dukkilr6 » Mon Sep 19, 2005 5:36 pm

Hey guys, I'm new to calling geese. I have always carried a goose call for the heck of it when duck hunting, but dont really know what to do with it. I know a flute is not as versatile as a short reed but what sounds can I make with it besides your basic honk, and how do I make these sounds. I also own a short reed but can hardly make a sound with it. any help is appreciated.

Thanks Fellas

DUKKILR
dukkilr6
hunter

Postby Robberwood » Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:36 pm

Single clucks and honks. Very basic sounds. Thats about it! If you know how to blow a duck call i would just go straight to a short reed... :thumbsup:
"Dont land over there!"
So what time are they suppose to show up?
Robberwood
hunter

Postby quackerkiller » Mon Sep 19, 2005 8:47 pm

:withstupid: if you learn the flute or use it in the season to come just forget the flute because it is alot harder to use a flute and then switch over to a short reed and use the short reed yea you make suck at first to be blunt about it but in the long run when you get use to it you'll kill alot more geese.
Lynch Mob Calls Pro-Staff
Out For Blood
quackerkiller
Forum & State Moderator

Postby Cobra » Mon Sep 19, 2005 9:41 pm

Use a flute as a long range attention getter using simple drawn out pleading honks (really tough to consistantly do much else with it) thing does seem to have some range. Have had them turn back towards us when nearly a mile away. Inside 500 yds, or once completely turned, it seems to spook them, just have to use to much air to get it to work, which is way to loud. Now it's time for the short reed, much more versatile and really the one to master.
Cobra
hunter

Postby quackerkiller » Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:29 am