New to goose hunting/need experianced advice

Compare goose decoys, goose setups and ideas and everything that goes with the sport of decoying geese

Moderators: MM, yellowlab, 1ynggun

New to goose hunting/need experianced advice

Postby cawaterfowlslayer » Wed Apr 25, 2012 2:17 pm

Hey guys I am new to goose hunting and wanted to see if I could get some insight from some more experienced guys. I have hunted for all waterfowl but where I am in California hunting the marshes we don’t get to many chances at geese. But at the end of this past season hunt I harvested my first goose which was a lesser snow goose and was banded :thumbsup: . I ended up finishing the hunt with six ducks, 5 lesser snow geese and one blue goose. Because we hunt the marshes I am limited to only floater dekes and being on the pacific fly way we see mostly Snows, Canada’s, and Specs. I don’t know if there is one species that other species of geese will still land in or if one is better all around. I just thought that even just having a couple dekes out their would help convice them to come in the 30 extra yards because right now for the most part I call they fly over but when they dont see any geese they become suspicious. Also if anyone knows of any deals were their is a range of species in like half a dozen.Thanks guys anything is appreciated
It Flys it Dies
cawaterfowlslayer
hunter

Re: New to goose hunting/need experianced advice

Postby BGipson » Wed May 02, 2012 6:32 pm

I'd get either a half dozen snows or specks and get a speck call. They are the most social of the geese and will come in to a LOT of noise typically
Every day I try to be the person my dog thinks I am. If I have accomplished this when my time comes, I feel I will have had a pretty good life.

FowlGrunt Field Staff
BGipson
hunter

Postby Ichabod97 » Wed May 02, 2012 6:49 pm