Duck Hunting Forum banner

Public Land Snows/Invite in Missouri???

7K views 12 replies 8 participants last post by  Blackfoot down 
#1 ·
I honesty am not expecting anyone to give up there secret honey hole! I am just trying to see if anyone would be willing to help out. I live down around Springfield and would like to make maybe one trip up north and one trip to the bootheel. I want to take my kid brother on one good snow hunt this year. Besides Swan Lake, would anyone please offer some advice or be willing to take on two guys that love to hunt? My kid brother is a cancer survivor and I am a vet. We took another DHC guy we met on the forum Canada hunting and I am hoping karma will return the favor! We have layouts and one dozen snow shells...we don't have much, but will help set and take down. We will try to pick up a few more deeks, but we only get to see snows around here every two or three years at most! We will definately hook you up when south zone is open and north is closed to try to get you one more good hunt!!! Thanks

#2 ·
You probably should have asked this question about a month ago!!!!! A little late to be planning a snow hunt..

#3 ·
i_willie12 said:
You probably should have asked this question about a month ago!!!!! A little late to be planning a snow hunt..
I'm not trying to be combative, but why is it too late to be planning a hunt? The snows don't get here until late February/early March. He has plenty of time to hook up with someone to get it going. It doesn't sound like he wants an outfitter, just a friendly gathering of hunting. Lots of snows around the Creighton/Garden City area. Don't know much about public areas, but you might be able to knock on a few doors. Many local birds that kind of have a routine when it comes to feeding and roosting, so it may be difficult to get permission in those spots, but you never know when the migrators start coming back through.

#4 ·
Cline said:
i_willie12 said: