new to hunting

A place for young hunters to discuss topics of interest.

Moderator: captainkevan

new to hunting

Postby duckhunter94 » Wed Jul 16, 2008 7:05 pm

hey guys im new to hunting and this year will be my first year ever. Im located in southeast,georgia. my dad just bought a remington870. im just wondering wat to expect in my first year and my first time shooting a real gun. (like recoil and what not)
duckhunter94
hunter

Postby blhunter3 » Wed Jul 16, 2008 7:07 pm

First go find a place to shoot clays and dont even think about recoil. It bothers you more when you are waiting for it. Kinda like when you are going to get a shot from the doctor. If he jsut does it with out warning it hurts, but if he counts down it hurts more.
Live, laugh, shoot some birds.
blhunter3
hunter

Postby duckhunter94 » Wed Jul 16, 2008 7:14 pm

i have to get my gun safety license and huntin license. we have clay pidgeons and we are goin to shoot on my land. I have a plus because i have all swamp. also i went duck watchin in the swamp and it was a great experience.
duckhunter94
hunter

Postby duckhunter94 » Wed Jul 16, 2008 7:23 pm

also we'll be huntin on the altamaha.
duckhunter94
hunter

Postby duckhunter94 » Thu Jul 17, 2008 1:04 pm

blhunter3 wrote:First go find a place to shoot clays and dont even think about recoil. It bothers you more when you are waiting for it. Kinda like when you are going to get a shot from the doctor. If he jsut does it with out warning it hurts, but if he counts down it hurts more.

i shot it today and what you said helped. i didnt worry about the recoil.and for my first shot i hurt a little but thats what you should expect.
duckhunter94
hunter

Postby shoot-n-goose » Mon Jul 28, 2008 1:30 pm

When your in the blind and you start shooting at real birds, your hearts goin so fast you dont notice the recoil. Not saying it doesnt hurt, but it may take an hour or two to notice.