Duck Hunting Forum banner

Might get into bow hunting,,

1K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  waterfowler20 
#1 ·
..Im a beginner hunter, and have yet to take any big game. I was planning on my first big game experience taking place behind my remington 30-06, but i missed the draw, and there are some bow hunts for Javelina avalable and I really want to try my hand. The hunt is in early January so I would have time to practice up.

Is bow hunting a good way to get into big game?

Whats a rough estimate on the initital investment?

What would be the minimal amount of equipment needed to go hog hunting? Im figuring a bow, arrows, cammo clothing, maby some kind of call, and a good knife?

Is using a treestand the typical method for bow hunting?

Thanks for yer help guys n gals..

#2 ·
Where are you from?

Bow hunting is a great experience. Obviously its more difficult to than rifle hunting, mostly because you have to be within 50 yds (if you're good) to take game. If you're like me, you have to get within 30 yds. Bow hunting also requires a bit more discipline and awareness, which is inherent with getting that close to game, but if you play the wind, and hunt where the game is, you should have success.

Javalina or hogs may be a good start to get into it, since they are not as sensitive/aware as deer, but you will need to buy some equipment to get into it, and if you want to be ready by January, I would buy it now.

I would first suggest going with a compound bow. It seems to have less of a learning curve.