.223 on deer?

Deer, Elk, Moose, Bear, Hog

Moderators: stumpjumper, don taylor

.223 on deer?

Postby Jimmy82 » Fri Jul 04, 2014 3:52 am

So, a little background first. I grew up in NE which has a caliber restriction for big game. Rifles must be .24 or lager caliber. NY does not have this restriction, a rifle for big game only has to be centerfire. My 7mm Rem Mag will possibly be down for maintenance this coming season which limits me to a .243 and my new .223. I got the .223 for coyotes, it's the Gandermountain Rem 700 package deal. If my wife hunts this year one of us will have to use the .223 or a muzzle loader. My muzzle loaders are all traditional style flint locks or percussion caps and if there in bad weather this will not be the best option.

So, with that, the .223 is a 1/12 twist, which won't handle heavier rounds well. Since I'm new to the whole concept of using a .223 on deer, is there a round that my rifle will handle that will also kill deer? Would a predator round be enough on a deer? Would range be a factor? The average range for where we will be hunting is 100 yds, maybe 200 max, so I don't think the round would suffer in that range.
Jimmy82
hunter

Re: .223 on deer?

Postby blackrock » Fri Jul 04, 2014 7:16 am

This is a bad idea. Fix your 7 mag before deer season or borrow another gun. Or buy a Ruger American or something. Plenty of deer have been poached with 22LR but the .243 is really where deer cartridges begin. Especially if your AR won't handle the heavier, well constructed bullets due to twist. Having your wife shoot a deer with a sub performing caliber may need lead to an unpleasant experience if the deer ends up with a horrible superficial wound and has to be dispatched at close range. Trust me on this one. What's the matter with the 7mm that it can't be readied in months? Or if you insist on using the AR buy a different upper in a larger caliber. Even out here deer season is 3 1/2 months away......
blackrock
hunter