New Turkey Hunter Questions

Pheasant, turkey, dove, grouse, partridge, quail, squirrel, rabbits, etc.

Moderators: The Cat Island Drake, birddog crazy

New Turkey Hunter Questions

Postby marcbme » Fri Jan 05, 2007 9:33 am

I'm going to hit the spring turkey season and I have a few questions for you experienced turkey hunters.

When scouting, what kind of habitat am I looking for? Wooded areas or river bottoms? I hear there are calls such as a crow or owl that will give thier positions away, are there any recommendations?

Can I use my setter to locate them or should I leave him at home?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Lord......let me be as good a hunter as my dog thinks I am....amen
marcbme
hunter

Postby LaRedneck » Fri Jan 05, 2007 4:15 pm

Well i'm no expert by any means but I will suggest going out the evening before and roosting a turkey for the morning hunt. That will make life easier on you. If you don't have time for that then just hit the woods, turkeys are pretty much everywhere. Use the owl call right at first light, if there is one there you should get a shock gobble and then set up about 50 yards off his tree. If you can't locate one right away then move around and once the wood start to wake up use the crow call. I have't heard of hunters useing dogs for turkeys in years so that decision is up to you.
THE RIGHT OF THE PEOPLE TO KEEP AND BEAR ARMS SHALL NOT BE INFRINGED

YOU GOT A PERMIT TO ASK STUPID QUESTIONS LIKE THAT (TRACE ADKINS)

NRA
DU
NAHC
LaRedneck
Forum & State Moderator

Postby MossyGO! » Fri Jan 05, 2007 5:18 pm