1st Turkey Hunt, do I need a turkey choke?

Pheasant, turkey, dove, grouse, partridge, quail, squirrel, rabbits, etc.

Moderators: The Cat Island Drake, birddog crazy

1st Turkey Hunt, do I need a turkey choke?

Postby Ufly-Udie » Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:10 pm

Heading out for the first time in a few weeks. Curious if I need to buy a turkey choke. Probably take out the Browning Gold 3.5 camo. Will full choke do it or do I need to buy a turkey choke? In NE, we can use 2-7.5 shot. Sounds like no more than 40 yd shot for clean kill.
Ufly-Udie
hunter

Postby yellowlab » Fri Mar 09, 2007 10:04 pm

no you don't need a new one full is more than enough.... i have been lazy on not changed out mine from a mod. and been fine. just don't think they are worth the money...

and i have found a mod. with 3.5 steel 2 ... bad ace .... steel gets into all of those feathers better i think... what i have been using for them turkeys for the past 2 years now and never had one run off...

but i am a pretty stright forward and simple hunter when it comes to turkeys as they are about the easy think to hunt IMO.
yellowlab
Forum & State Moderator

Postby cut_un » Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:22 am

Just my twist :huh: I see 'the turkey chokes, all "special"chokes for that matter as a manufacturers dream come ture. Just another way to get into our pockets. :thumbsdown: Your gun will kill turkeys just as well as any gun on the market. Just pattern your gun with a varity of shells and find out which one shoots the best , at about 40 yrds. I use # fives but have also killed turkeys with # 4s as well as # 6s. :hammer: As I said it's just my twist but "the choke tudes" are designed to shoot tight groups at long distances. It's all about HOW CLOSE you can get the turkey, not how far out you can take a shot at him. :wink:
Big Al's" Take 'Em" Silhouettes Pro Staff

Team Chasin' Feathers
Eastern Shore Rod & Gun Club
Share your passion, take a kid hunting!
cut_un
hunter

Postby Benson » Sat Mar 10, 2007 6:03 pm